Queer Poetry Reading Group: Hull


The Library at Bradbury-Sullivan LGBT Community Center presents the December discussion of the center's Queer Poetry Reading Group, featuring Hull by writer Xandria Phillips. Hull is the winner of the Judith A. Markowitz Award and the 2020 Lambda Literary Award in Transgender Poetry.

In this debut collection, Hull explores emotional impacts of colonialism and racism on the Black queer body and the present-day emotional impacts of enslavement in urban, rural, and international settings. Hull is lyrical, layered, history-ridden, experimental, textured, adorned, ecstatic, and emotionally investigative.

Foreword writes, "In the tradition of Natasha Trethewey and Danez Smith, Phillips sees a through line from slavery to racism past and present. HULL is their bold indictment of prejudice."

Limited free copies of the book are available -- request a copy with your RSVP. If you don't need a free copy, books can be purchased at this link -- and 10% of your purchase supports free arts programs at Bradbury-Sullivan LGBT Community Center. The book is available in print or e-book formats.

The discussion is facilitated by Mary Foltz and is sponsored by Lehigh University's Southside Initiative and Humanities Center. This program is supported in part by the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts.

WHEN
December 21, 2021 at 6:30pm - 9:30pm
WHERE
Bradbury-Sullivan LGBT Community Center
522 W Maple St
at Bayard Rustin Way
Allentown, PA 18101
United States
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Gabby Hochfeld ·

Will you come?